Monday, May 11, 2015

Electric Trio Summer Dates

Hey there! The Cosmic Irony Spring Tour is history... we even made it through the six-shows-in-six-days gauntlet without incident.

THANK YOU to all the amazing people who came out to support us, to the bands that shared the bills, to the venues that hosted us, and to the folks who put us up. We couldn't do it without you.

A few of the shows were captured as live recordings by our sound engineers along the way, including Ed Griffin's multi-track of our hot and muddy late-Saturday-night set at Shakori Hills Grassroots Festival. Hope to share some of these recordings with you before too long.


Our Electric Trio Summer Dates are just around the corner. Matt Brandau, Keith Robinson and l will be visiting NY, DE, VA, MD, MA, and NC, with some slots opening for Louisiana guitar man Sonny Landreth and one of my all-time musical heroes, Shuggie Otis.

This month, we'll be returning to Trumansburg NY's Rongovian Embassy for a headlining set on Saturday May 23. We're also doing a residency of sorts at Williamsburg's Living Room with our friend Evelyn Brown — two Sunday evenings in a row, May 24 and 31. 


05/23 Trumansburg NY — Rongovian Embassy
05/24 Brooklyn NY — The Living Room   with Evelyn Brown + Band
05/31 Brooklyn NY — The Living Room   with Evelyn Brown + Band
06/11 Wilmington DE — World Cafe Live   supporting Sonny Landreth   Buy Tickets
06/14 New York, NY — City Winery   supporting Sonny Landreth   Buy Tickets
06/18 Charlottesville VA — The Southern   supporting Sonny Landreth   Buy Tickets
06/19 Annapolis MD — Rams Head On Stage   supporting Sonny Landreth   Buy Tickets
07/23 Becket MA — Dream Away Lodge
08/01 Raleigh NC — Lincoln Theatre   supporting Shuggie Otis   Buy Tickets
08/29 Chapel Hill NC — Cat's Cradle  Greg performs with DILLON FENCE for Be Loud 2015  


Greg Humphreys Electric Trio hit the studio while we were on tour in April. We spent a few days at Durham NC's Overdub Lane with our talented pal producer / engineer John Plymale, recording songs for a debut studio LP. We'll be working on that this summer as well. The basic tracks are thundering! I can't wait for y'all to hear it. 


The Dillon Fence set at Shakori was rockin', thanks to a big crowd of friends and fans. I really do enjoy getting together with my old mates Scott Carle, Kent Alphin, and Chris Goode. Our new tunes were a hit, too!

We'll be doing it again on August 29 — Dillon Fence will be at the Cat's Cradle in Chapel Hill for Be Loud 2015. It's a benefit show for a great cause and just a great get-together. Keep an eye out for the all-star lineup announcement and the advance ticket purchasing link at the Be Loud Sophie site.

More soon,

New and improved discography page with Spotify links here.


COSMIC IRONY  iTunes  Amazon  Spotify
Cosmic Irony is a studio collaboration between producer / bassist Matt Brandau and me. We've been recording together on-and-off at his Upper West Side studio Chateau Brandau since I've been living in the city. These are our funky creations.

The first tune, "Crosstown", is a song we built around a Brandau bassline, with horns from Memphis saxophonist Art Edmaiston (Lucero, Gregg Allman Band, JJ Grey and MOFRO) and trumpeter Dennis Marion (JJ Grey and MOFRO). On "Cosmic Irony" we take a Latin trip down Existential Lane. "All Because of You" is pure pop and "More Than a Friend" is a downtown love song. Enjoy.

1. Crosstown
2. Cosmic Irony
3. All Because Of You
4. More Than A Friend

ROCK AT LIVE WOOD  iTunes  Amazon  Spotify

Rock at Live Wood is the debut live recording of Greg Humphreys Electric Trio – bassist Matt Brandau, drummer Keith Robinson, and myself.

The Rock at Live Wood  LP, from an Electric Trio set at Rockwood Music Hall, is alternately thoughtful and blistering. Mixed by Keith Robinson, it features live arrangements of songs from the Cosmic Irony EP along with some trio versions of tunes from my solo acoustic LPs and HOBEX recordings.

1. Crosstown
2. Feelin' A Little Down
3. More Than A Friend
4. Windows
5. Sayin' What You Mean
6. Only One Of Me
7. All Because Of You
8. Must Be The Moon
9. Natural Child

Stream the catalog:
Greg Humphreys on Spotify 
HOBEX on Spotify
Dillon Fence on Spotify